Page 18

(Main Links of the site are right at the bottom of the page)

Included in this Divination section are:



Number Eight

By XanthosGriffin

I found this lost in my enormous files and folders. Data on the number 8.

I have no idea why I saved it, but that's not unusual. I have saved so much for further reading over my time on the internet! If I remember why the heck I saved this I'll return and add it here.

Properties of the number 8
Number of the perfection, the infinity. In mathematics the symbol of the infinity is represented by a 8 laid down.

Symbol of the cosmic Christ.

Number figuring the immutable eternity or the self-destruction. It represents also the final point of the manifestation.

In China, the 8 expresses the totality of the universe.

Number of the balance and of the cosmic order, according to the Egyptians.

Number expressing the matter, it is also the symbol of the incarnation in the matter which becomes itself creative and autonomous, governing its own laws.

The number eight corresponds to the New Testament, according to Ambroise.

It is the symbol of the new Life, the final Resurrection and the anticipated Resurrection that is the baptism.

According to Clement of Alexandria, the Christ places under the sign of 8 the one he made to be born again.

Represent the totality and the coherence of the creation in evolution. In China, it expresses the totality of the universe.

Represent the earth, not in its surface but in its volume, since 8 is the first cubic number.

The Pythagoreans have made the number 8 the symbol of the love and the friendship, the prudence and the thinking and they have called it the Great "Tetrachtys".

In Babylon, in Egypt and in Arabia, it was the number of the duplication devoted to the sun, from where the solar disc is decorated of a cross with eight arms.

The number 8 means the multiplicity, for the Japanese.

A favorable number, associated to the prosperity.

It is the number of the restful day, after the 7th day of the creation.

The eight beatitudes of the sermon on the mountain. (Mt 5,3-11)

The eight sentences of the Magnificat or Hymn of Mary. (Lk 1,46-56)

Jesus was circumcised eight days after his birth, according to the law established. (Lv 12,3; Gn 17,12 and 21,4; Lk 2,21)

The eight steps of the staircase leading to the external square of the Ezekiel's temple. (Ezk 40,26)

The eight creative words of God in six days, in Genesis chapter 1, verses 3, 6, 9, 11, 14, 20, 24, 26.

The eight persons who were saved from the Flood in Noah's Ark. (Gn 7,13)

Saint Joseph endured during eight years various great sufferings before to die, according to visions of Mary Agreda.

The Cabalists affirm that there were in the Temple of Jerusalem eight gates from which the eighth gate would open only for the Messiah.

Eight is the total number of Chakras of the man, counting the seven in correlation with the physical body, plus an additional working in the etheric body. This eighth Chakra is known as being "the Chakra of the Soul" or "the Star Chakra". It would be located approximately 7 to 10 centimeters above of the Crown Chakra.

The eight great gods of the Vedas: Surya, Candra, Agni, Yama, Varuna, Indra, Vâyu and Kubera.

The eight "trigrams" of "Fou-Hi" Chinese philosopher.

Plato remained with his master the Greek philosopher Socrates during eight years.

The eight parts of the way which leads to the nirvana, according to the Buddhist doctrines: the faith, the right judgement, the right language, a right and pure action, a right profession, the application of the spirit to all the precepts of the law, the right memory and the right meditation.

The Buddhists count eight symbols of long life of which one of them is the infinite node being rolled up and withdrawn on itself.

There are eight degrees of Buddhist monks or "Aryas" and the highest is named "Arhat".

According to a Buddhist legend, Buddha's ashes was separated in eight parts.

The lotus is represented symbolically with 8 petals and according to yogis, it is on a lotus with 8 petals that the "Mêru" mount is erected which, symbolically, represents the center and the axis of the world.

The Yoga counts eight training courses: Yama, the restriction; Niyama, religious observances; Asana, the posture; Pranayama, the control of the breathing; Praty-ahara, the restriction of senses; Dharana, the concentration; Dhyana, the contemplation and Samadhi, the ecstasy.

The Avesta mentions eight categories of priest: a superior, the Zaotar, which recites the texts, and seven subordinates: the Havanan which crushes the Homa in the mortar, the Atarevakhsha which maintains the fire, the fraberetar being in charge of the instruments for the Sacrifice, the Aberet carrying the holy water, the Acnatar that washes the sacred vases, the Raethwiskar that purifies the soiled men and objects, and the Craoshavereza or confessor.

In the religion of Zarathustra, there were eight instruments used for the cult: the Atashdan, reservoir for fire; the Havana or mortar; the Barecma, or beam of sacred palms; the Tali, tray of the offerings; the Tasta or cup of gold; the strainer with nine holes for the Homa; the Avand, vase for purifications; the Musrhabe, wash-hand basin for the priest.

The eight categories of priests of Zarathustra.

For the Indians, there are the eight modes of marriage mentioned by Manou: mode of Brahma, Devas, Rishis, Pradjapatis, Asouras, Ghandarvas, Rakchasas and Pisatchas.

The eight disciples of Thot, in Egypt.

According to Herodotus, the reign of gods in Egypt would have started with a first group of eight gods to the head of which was Pan.

For the Greeks, the number 8 was dedicated to Dionysus, born the eighth month of the year.

The eight divisions of the sky of the Greek tradition.

The eight Rules of command of the "Chou-King".

The eight ministers of the Chinese Empire.

The eight pillars of the "Ming-Tang".

The eight forms of Shiva, sometimes illustrated by 8 "lingams" laid out around a central "lingam".

The eight arms of Vishnu.

The eight divinities guardians of the Tibet.

The eight "Selecti" gods of the Romans.

The eight gods of Xenocrate.

The eight legs of the Sheipner horse, the gray horse of Odin.

The eight animals which accompany the Mahometan believers in the paradise.

The Great Year of 25920 years is divided into eight great terrestrial cycles that are called Age: Golden age, Age of money, Age of bronze and Age of iron, and each is repeated twice.

Creusot points out that the prayer of saint Francis of Assisi on the peace contains eight requests to the Lord:
Lord, make me an instrument of peace.
Where is the hatred, let me put love.
Where is the offense, let me put forgiveness.
Where is the discord, let me put union.
Where is the error, let me put truth.
Where is the doubt, let me put faith.
Where is the despair, let me put hope.
Where are darkness, let me put light.
Where is the sadness, let me put the joy.

The Tower of Belus in Babylon is made of eight square towers.

An octagonal building in Hiroshima contains the statues of eight great wise man of the world: the Buddha, Confucius, Socrates, Jesus, the prince Shotoku, Kobo Daishi and two Japanese priests.

The number eight governs the life of the man: at 8 month the baby teeth appear; at 8 years, he loses them; at 2 x 8 years, it is the puberty; and he becomes impotent at 8 x 8 years.


Libraries are on this row
INDEX Page 1
(Divination & Dreams, Guides & Spirit Helpers)
INDEX Page 2
INDEX Page 3
(Main Section, Medicine Wheel, Native Languages & Nations, Symbology)
INDEX Page 4
(Myth & Lore)
INDEX Page 5
(Sacred Feminine & Masculine, Stones & Minerals)
INDEX Page 6
(Spiritual Development)
INDEX Page 7
(Totem Animals)
INDEX Page 8
(Tools & Crafts. Copyrights)

Cinnamon Moon
© Copyright: Cinnamon Moon & River WildFire Moon (Founders.) 2000-date
All rights reserved.

Site constructed by Dragonfly Dezignz 1998-date

River Moon